Some documents are in Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format (PDF). The latest version of the viewer software is available free of charge from Adobe. For more information, click here.


January 2012

Meeting Dates

Council has revised the schedule of its future meetings as follows: 19-20 April 2012, 12-13 June 2012.

Revised Documents

Council has completed a full review of the standards and expectations for graduate programming which involved reviewing feedback from CAQC graduate program reviewers and the deans of graduate studies and provosts from Alberta institutions offering graduate programs.  Changes to Section 4.4 Graduate Programs of the CAQC Handbook were adopted by Council at its 13-14 December 2011 meeting.

You can access the revised graduate standards as a separate document via the following link: Graduate Program Assessment Standards.

To align the tool used by CAQC reviewers with the revised standards, Council is planning to revise its Graduate Program Evaluation Framework.

October 2011

Meeting Dates

Council has adopted the following dates for future meetings: 13-14 December 2011, 14-15 February 2012, 19-20 April 2012 (if needed), and 12-13 June 2012.

New Members

Following the completion of the term of Dr. Patricia Clements, the Minister of Advanced Education and Technology has appointed Dr. Olive Yonge as Council's newest member, effective August 4, 2011. A brief biography of each member is available on this web site under Council Membership


Dr. Peter Mahaffy has been appointed Vice-Chair of the Council.

Annual Report

Council's seventh Annual Report for the period 1 April 2010 to 31 March 2011 is now available on Council's web site under Publications.

New and Revised Documents

A new Guide for Teams Conducting Organizational Evaluations (Graduate Programs) - Resident Alberta Institutions has been developed and posted on the website.  As well, the following documents were revised to reflect Council's current practices in conducting reviews and site visits.  They also incorporate suggestions provided by external evaluators who have served on Council's teams: